Congratulations to the 2019 Award Recipients


Gold Medal

William J. Cavanaugh, Founding Partner and Emeritus Senior Principal Consultant of Cavanaugh Tocci Associates, Inc. has been named the recipient of the 2019 Gold Medal “for practical applications to building design and education in architectural acoustics, and for service to the Society.”

Bill received a Bachelor of Architecture from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1951.  He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and served as the Chair of the Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics, 1974-77, Member of the Technical Council, 1974-77, and Member of the Executive Council, 1994-97.

Bill was awarded the Wallace Clement Sabine Medal in 2006 “for contributions to the practical application of architectural acoustics in building design and to education in architectural acoustics” and the Distinguished Service Citation in 1994 “for diverse and sustained services in initiating and guiding Society activities, in counseling colleagues in the Society, and in introducing generations of students to acoustics.”

Silver Medal in Engineering Acoustics

Thomas B. Gabrielson, Professor of Acoustics, Pennsylvania State University, Graduate Program in Acoustics, and Senior Scientist in the Applied Research Laboratory, has been named recipient of the Silver Medal in Engineering ““for contributions to the understanding of novel transducers and their intrinsic limitations imposed by thermal and quantum physics.”

Tom received a Ph.D. in Acoustics from Penn State University in 1985. He began his professional career at the Naval Air Development Center (NADC) in Warminster, Pennsylvania.   

Tom is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America. He served as an instructor at ASA School 2016 – Living in the Acoustic Environment. While at NADC, Tom was the recipient of both their Scientific Achievement Award and Outstanding Independent Research Project Award. 

Distinguished Service Citation

David Feit, Treasurer of the Acoustical Society of America since 2000, has been named recipient of the Distinguished Service Citation “for service as Treasurer and other contributions to the Acoustical Society of America.”

David received an Eng. Sc. D. from Columbia University in 1964. He was Senior Research Scientist, David Taylor Research Center, Bethesda, MD, from 1990 to 2005. 

David is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America. He served as Chair of the Technical Committee on Structural Acoustics and Vibration, 1991-97, member of the Technical Council, 1991-97, member of the Executive Council since 2000.  He was the Technical Program Chair of the spring 1995 meeting held in Washington, DC.

David was awarded the Trent-Crede Medal in 1999 “for contributions to high frequency noise radiation from submerged structures and to the vibration of fuzzy structures.”


Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal in Psychological and Physiological Acoustics, Speech Communication and Architectural Acoustics

Barbara G. Shinn-Cunningham, Professor of Psychology and Director, Carnegie Mellon Neuroscience Institute, 2018-, has been named recipient of the Helmholtz Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal in Psychological and Physiological Acoustics and Speech Communication “for understanding the cognitive and neural bases of speech perception in complex acoustic environments.”

Barb received a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1994.  She joined Boston University in 1997 and served in various positions from 1997 to 2018 including Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Founding Director of the Center for Computational Neuroscience and Neural Technology and Center for Research in Sensory Communications and Neural Technology.

Barb is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and served as Member of the ASA Executive Council and Vice President (2016). She was awarded the Student Council Mentor Award in 2013.


Bruce Lindsay Award

Adam Maxwell, Research Assistant Professor, University of Washington, Department of Urology, has been named recipient of the 2019 R. Bruce Lindsay Award “for contributions to the understanding and application of therapeutic ultrasound.”

Adam received a Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Michigan in 2012.

He serves as a member of the Technical Committee on Biomedical Acoustics and has published several articles in the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA).  He also organized special sessions for the ASA meetings in Honolulu in fall 2016 and Victoria in fall 2018.


ASA Scholarships Available

The following ASA Scholarships are available to students enrolled in graduate programs in phonetics and speech production, Architectural Acoustics, Noise Control, and Engineering Acoustics.

The Leo and Gabriella Beranek Scholarship in Architectural Acoustics and Noise Control
The Frank and Virginia Winker Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Study in Acoustics
The Raymond H. Stetson Scholarship in Phonetics and Speech Science

Application deadlines are 28 February for the Beranek Scholarship and 1 April for the Stetson Scholarship and the Winker Memorial Scholarship.

For further information and application forms, please visit the ASA Funding Opportunities webpage

Congratulations to the following ASA members who were elected Fellows at the fall 2018 meeting

Megan S. Ballard

For contributions to shallow water
propagation and geoacoustic inversion

Lori J. Leibold

For contributions to our understanding
of auditory development

Edward J. Walsh

For contributions to auditory physiology, animal
bioacoustics, and public policy

Woojae Seong

Woojae Seong

For contributions to geoacoustic
inversion and ocean signal processing

Rajka Smiljanic

For contributions to cross-language
speech acoustics and perception

Robert W. Pyle, Jr.
For contributions to the understanding of the acoustics of brass musical instruments

Pin It on Pinterest