2020 ASA Awards and Prizes

Gold Medal
Judy R. Dubno
Department of Otolarynology—Head and Neck Surgery, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC

Citation: For contributions to understanding age-related hearing loss and for leadership in the acoustics community

R. Bruce Lindsay Award
Julien Bonnel
Applied Ocean Physics & Engineering, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, MA

Citation: For contributions to physics-based signal processing methods for underwater acoustic applications

Silver Medal in Noise
Scott D. Sommerfeldt
Department of Physics and Astronomy, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT

Citation: For contributions to active noise and structural acoustic control

Silver Medal in Speech Communication
Anne Cutler
The MARCS Institute for Brain, Behaviour and Development, Western Sydney University, Sydney, Australia

Citation: for contributions to understanding speech recognition by native and non-native listeners, and leadership in speech science

Wallace Clement Sabine Medal
Gary W. Siebein
Seibein Associates and University of Florida, School of Architecture, Gainesville, FL

Citation: For contributions to education and practice in architectural acoustics

Medwin Prize in Acoustical Oceanography
Kelly Benoit-Bird
Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, Moss Landing, CA

Citation: For contributions to understanding marine organism foraging ecology using novel acoustic analysis

William and Christine Hartmann Prize in Auditory Neuroscience
Edwin R. Rubel
Virginia Merrill Bloedel Hearing Research Center University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education
Daniel J. Butko, University of Oklahoma


Acoustical Society of America Awards and Prizes to be presented at the fall 2019 meeting

The following awards and prizes will be presented at the Acoustical Society of America fall 2019 meeting to be held in San Diego, California.

Murray Campbell has been named recipient of the Silver Medal in Musical Acoustics. He is cited “for contributions to understanding the acoustics of brass wind instruments.”

Dr. Campbell, Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow and Professor Emeritus, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Edinburgh, received his Ph.D. from the University of Edinburgh.


James M. Sabatier has been named the recipient of the Silver Medal in Physical Acoustics. He is cited “for pioneering studies of acoustic-seismic coupling and its application to the humanitarian cause of detecting landmines “

Dr. Sabatier, Research Professor at the University of Mississippi and Senior Scientist at the National Center for Physical Acoustics in Oxford, Mississippi, earned his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Mississippi.

Dr. Chen‐Fen Huang, Associate Professor at the Institute of Oceanography, National Taiwan University, has been named recipient of the Medwin Prize in Acoustical Oceanography “for novel experimentation, signal processing, and modeling related to tomographic mapping of ocean currents and geoacoustic inversion.”



Dr. Preston S. Wilson, Professor in the Acoustics and Dynamic Systems an Control programs of the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering has been named recipient of the Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education. He holds a joint appointment as Associate Research Professor at Applied Research Laboratories, The University of Texas at Austin and is the Raymond F. Dawson Centennial Fellow in Engineering.

Congratulations to the New ASA Fellows Elected at the Spring 2019 Meeting

Virginia A. Best

For contributions to understanding the impact of listener factors on spatial hearing of speech

Chen-Fen Huang

For contributions to geoacoustic inversion for ocean state estimation

Nicholas J. Giordano

For advancement of computational modeling in musical acoustics


Martin D. Verweij

For contributions to nonlinear medical ultrasound

Jonas Braasch

For interdisciplinary contributions to musical acoustics and psychoacoustics of spatial audio technology

Qian-Jie  Fu

For contributions to understanding auditory perception with cochlear implants


Yun  Jing

For contributions to designing acoustic metamaterials and numerical modeling wave propagation



Not pictured:

Michael E. Ravicz

For contributions to measurements of middle-ear function



Results of the ASA 2019 Election

The following ASA members were elected Offices and Members of the Executive Council in the 2019 Society election

Diane Kewley-Port, President-Elect

Diane Kewley-Port, President-Elect

Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

Stan E. Dosso, Vice President-Elect

Stan E. Dosso, Vice President-Elect

University of Victoria, Canada

Bennett M. Brooks, Member of the Executive Council

Bennett M. Brooks, Member of the Executive Council

Brooks Acoustics Corporation, Pompano Beach, FL

 Andrew C.H. Morrison, Member of the Executive Council

Andrew C.H. Morrison, Member of the Executive Council

Joliet Junior College, Joliet, IL

Judy R. Dubno, Treasurer

Judy R. Dubno, Treasurer

Medical University of South Carolina

Recorded Presentations from Victoria Meeting Available

Approximately 400 of the 1000 lecture presentations given at the joint 176th Meeting of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) and 2018 Acoustics Week in Canada of the Canadian Acoustical Association (CAA) in Victoria from 7-11 November 2018, were recorded and are now being made available, with consent of the authors. 

All meeting registrants are being given free access to the recordings.  Others who did not register for the meeting are able to purchase access to the entire collection of recordings by paying USD $275, equivalent to the one-day registration fee for the meeting. Please visit this website to browse the list of available talks and to purchase or gain access to the recordings.

As you may recall, a limited number of talks at the six ASA meetings prior to Victoria were also recorded through the live streaming initiative, and those will be made freely available soon through the ASA YouTube Channel. Click the bell icon on the upper right of that page to subscribe and be notified when new material is added.

If you have any questions about this new resource, please contact asa@acousticalsociety.org. We hope to see you at the next ASA meeting in Louisville, 13-17 May 2019, where we plan to celebrate the 90thAnniversary of the society!


Pin It on Pinterest