Recorded Presentations from Victoria Meeting Available

Approximately 400 of the 1000 lecture presentations given at the joint 176th Meeting of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) and 2018 Acoustics Week in Canada of the Canadian Acoustical Association (CAA) in Victoria from 7-11 November 2018, were recorded and are now being made available, with consent of the authors. 

All meeting registrants are being given free access to the recordings.  Others who did not register for the meeting are able to purchase access to the entire collection of recordings by paying USD $275, equivalent to the one-day registration fee for the meeting. Please visit this website to browse the list of available talks and to purchase or gain access to the recordings.

As you may recall, a limited number of talks at the six ASA meetings prior to Victoria were also recorded through the live streaming initiative, and those will be made freely available soon through the ASA YouTube Channel. Click the bell icon on the upper right of that page to subscribe and be notified when new material is added.

If you have any questions about this new resource, please contact We hope to see you at the next ASA meeting in Louisville, 13-17 May 2019, where we plan to celebrate the 90thAnniversary of the society!


ASA Scholarships Available

The following ASA Scholarships are available to students enrolled in graduate programs in phonetics and speech production, Architectural Acoustics, Noise Control, and Engineering Acoustics.

The Leo and Gabriella Beranek Scholarship in Architectural Acoustics and Noise Control
The Frank and Virginia Winker Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Study in Acoustics
The Raymond H. Stetson Scholarship in Phonetics and Speech Science

Application deadlines are 28 February for the Beranek Scholarship and 1 April for the Stetson Scholarship and the Winker Memorial Scholarship.

For further information and application forms, please visit the ASA Funding Opportunities webpage

Acoustics Today Summer Issue

We are pleased to announce that the summer 2018 issue of Acoustics Today, the Acoustical Society of America’s magazine, is now on-line. The issue includes several articles as well as a variety of interesting essays. The articles are:

Featured Articles

Sensitivity to Foreign Accent – Kenneth J. de Jong

The New Age of Sound: How Bell Telephone Laboratories and Leopold Stokowski Modernized Music – Gabrielle E. O’Brien

Canadian Innovations in Naval Acoustics from World War II to 1967 – Cristina D. S. Tollefsen

Quantitative Ultrasound and the Management of Osteoporosis – Keith A. Wear, Brent K. Hoffmeister, and Pascal Laugier

Speech: It’s Not as Acoustic as You Think – Matthew B. Winn

Sound Perspectives

ASA’s Publications: Spotlight on Quality – James Lynch, Elizabeth Bury, Mary Guillemette, and Helen Wall Murray

Archives and History Committee – Fredericka Bell-Berti

Insights on Navigating the Two-Body Problem – Tracianne B. Neilsen and Lauren M. Ronsse

Ask an Acoustician – William A. Yost and Micheal L. Dent


ASA Members will receive a print version of Acoustics Today in a few weeks.

Acoustics Today is open access so anyone can download and read articles from all issues of the magazine.

Arthur N. Popper
Editor, Acoustics Today

Congratulations to the following ASA members who were elected Fellows at the spring 2018 meeting

Ahmed A. Al-Jumaily

For contributions to biomedical applications of acoustics and vibrations

Jan Dettmer

For contributions to inversion methods and uncertainty quantification applied to geoacoustics

Brian F. Katz

For contributions to measurement techniques and spatial hearing for auditory virtual reality

Eleanor P. Stride

For contributions to the modelling, development, and manufacturing of acoustically responsive biomaterials

Richard D. Costley, Jr.

For contributions to the analysis of battlefield acoustics and the acoustical properties of structures

Joseph R. Gladden, III

For service to and leadership in the field of physical acoustics

Colleen Reichmuth

For contributions to pinniped acoustics

Not Pictured

Dorian S. Houser
For advancing the understanding of the impacts of anthropogenic noise on marine mammals

Catherine L. Rogers
For contributions to speech communication through service, mentoring, and scholarship

David S. Woolworth
For contributions to general architectural acoustics and service to the Society

Pin It on Pinterest